Mac OS X Cats

Apple started giving Mac–junkies the code names to its new operating systems back in the 90s. I figure it was to keep them from attacking them in the parking lot, begging for news. Mac–junkies are really sad that way.

They even make whole websites in devotion to Macs. Sad, really.


As the years go, however, we tend to lose the order, or forget what they were. Some days I just don’t bother trying to figure out the internet. For no earthly reason, the largest search engine traffic I get is from people looking to find out what the code names for the releases of Mac OS X were. So…I made this page.

The Code Names

Here you go:

  • 10.0 Cheetah
  • 10.1 Puma
  • 10.2 Jaguar
  • 10.3 Panther
  • 10.4 Tiger
  • 10.5 Leopard
  • 10.6 Snow Leopard (to be released in September)

Now, go impress your friends!

© 2003-2017 John Stansbury. All rights reserved. Entries (RSS) Comments (RSS). 23 queries. 0.926 seconds.